Virtual Vulnerability and Traumatic Triggers

Image

In March 2012 the now released Tomb Raider was torn apart by the media when it contributed to a heated debate within the mediated public sector over the controversial use of sexual violence as a plot shaping and character developing device within the context of a video game.

Before getting into this debate, let’s take a look at what sparked the controversy in the first place. It all started during an interview with Ron Rosenberg the games executive producer. Within the interview Ron stated “We did a lot of research into survival and people who survived extreme situations”. “One of the recurring themes was that people who survived had this mantra of just keep moving, you see that in the beginning of the game.” “Then towards the end we start to really hit her, and to break her down. Her best friend is kidnapped, she’s taken hostage, she’s almost raped, we put her in this position where we turned her into a cornered animal.” From those words debate spread veraciously.

outrage

The fury unleashed by these statements was swift and condemning, which prompted Crystal Dynamics to release a clarifying statement claiming the scene was “threatening” but “Sexual assault of any kind”  was “not a theme” covered in the game. Having played the game myself I reuse to refer to it as a ‘rape’ seen as I believe that is a major misinterpretation of what the scene is about (especially due to the fact that no rape actually occurs), however I cannot deny that this scene is vividly disturbing and emotionally triggering. Take a look for yourself…

While no rape occurs there is an undeniable connotation of sexual violence and female vulnerability as well a dramatic insight into the traumatic implications of taking a life. I wonder though is this really a bad thing? I mean these  issues are real and I feel help create a realistic transformation of character, as we witness Lara evolve from a vulnerable girl to the strong, brave, gun totting heroine we know today.

lara1

tomb_raider-625x1000

The debate was however that these issues shouldn’t have been touched upon and that it is unethical to use sexual assault or extreme acts of violence as a transformation device because they may trigger deeper emotions within people who have experienced real life trauma. Blogger and victim of real life violence Ashelia writes  “If you don’t hit the right series of buttons, she’s choked to death in front of you” “I was so taken aback by the scene, a video game had never made me feel this way in my entire life—and I wasn’t sure what I thought about that. You see, it shocked me so much because twelve years ago, my father choked me in that manner”.

I feel that although this game uses controversial and somewhat disturbing subject matter, it uses it in a way that is not inappropriate. The issue has been blown out of proportion largely due to fact that people see Lara as a victim when instead they should see her as a survivor. Ashelia later writes “Tomb Raider triggered me and that’s ok, maybe that’s even good.” It healed me”.. “It made me realise that, much like Lara Croft, I survived as well”

“I am a survivor and I am alive and so is Lara Croft”

30 thoughts on “Virtual Vulnerability and Traumatic Triggers

  1. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  2. Hello everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web site, and paragraph is actually fruitful designed for me, keep up posting such articles or reviews.

  3. Hey I am so grateful I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was searching on
    Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just
    like to say kudos for a incredible post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  4. Good day I am so excited I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was searching on Bing for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all
    round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great job.

  5. Amazing things here. I am very glad to peer
    your post. Thank you so much and I’m having a look ahead to contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  6. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be at the
    web the easiest factor to remember of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while folks think about worries
    that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest as well as outlined out the entire thing without having side effect , other people could
    take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thanks

  7. Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of information on
    your page. Im really impressed by your site.

    Hello there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and individually suggest to my friends.
    I’m sure they will be benefited from this web site.

  8. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in Ie.

    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon.
    Thanks

  9. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could i
    subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable deal.

    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  10. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in
    penning this website. I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts
    from you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own
    site now 😉

    • thanks so much, I’m glad that you enjoyed them and I’m glad you have also decided to start writing, when you do, link me your page 🙂

  11. Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too.
    Such clever work and coverage! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.

  12. Wonderful article! This is the kind of information that are meant to be shared across the web.
    Shame on the seek engines for no longer positioning this post upper!
    Come on over and consult with my web site . Thank you =)

  13. wonderful issues altogether, you just received a logo new reader.

    What might you recommend about your submit that you just made a few days ago?

    Any positive?

Leave a Reply

