Becoming One With The Anime

Last week I continued my auto-ethnographic experience; engaging in some more cosplay make up for the anime One Piece. Unfortunately I did not have a chance edit and upload them so I will be doing two blog posts this week :S

To update you on my previous posts, I have chosen Anime as the topic for my final project. More specifically I want to discuss how Anime has been a major part of my life growing up and how engaging with it makes me feel connected to my kindred anime loving spirits. This is a connection that spans globally as convergent technologies allow me to interact with wider anime communities regardless of distance. While  becoming more involved in these communities makes me feel connected to the niche it also has the ability to make me feel disconnected from what is considered mainstream here in Australia. There have been many instances in my life where others have made fun of me for watching, as they  blatantly put it,”Silly Japanese Cartoons” but there have also been times where something as simple as having a One Piece key chain is enough incentive for a total stranger to strike up a conversation with you.

A perfect example of this, that I can remember, was one time at work. It was a normal mundane day at the o’l IGA and I was standing behind the counter serving on auto pilot. A boy around the age of 16 (I think) came up to the counter to buy a can of coke. When he went to pay I noticed he had a One Piece wallet and being a lover of all thing OP, I was all like “Nice wallet, One Piece is the best”. He was completely taken aback and replied with “You.. you watch..One Piece”, I’m still not sure if it was because he was simply excited that an opportunity to discuss anime had come up or if this was the first time a girl had spoken to him but needless to say we had ourselves a grand discussion. Ever since then the same boy comes into work on a regular basis and every time we converse about the latest episode and what we think is going to happen next. I still have no idea what this boys name is but we are now connected by our love of One Piece.

What I have been noticing a lot lately is that watching anime here in Aus is becoming more and more popular. There has always been a huge fan market, but I feel like now it is becoming more accepted. In my own experience I am noticing that the instances where people make fun of me for watching anime are rapidly decreasing and suddenly it is not unusual to watch it. At uni alone I have met heaps of people who love it as much as I do and plenty of them have been girls; which is good to see because it used always seem to be only boys.

On to my experience…

Last week I did make up for the characters Enel and Buggy and today I posted them onto my personal Instagram account.

enel 1

Enel 2

buggy 1

buggy 2

Once again the experience of posting these to my account was a little scary because once again I was worried that people who don’t watch anime would think I was weird. This worry was misguided though because I received many positive responses from people who have never even heard of One Piece. Even with the positive remarks I still found myself justifying my actions by telling people I was doing this for uni. This can be seen in the first picture. The truth is I wasn’t just doing it for uni, It was for my own fun and after taking the pictures I found myself running around the house pretending to be the characters it was awesome. I don’t really know why I felt the need to explain myself, I guess it just comes down to a confidence issue stemming from negative past experiences. I used to always wish I was born Japan, I wanted to grow up in culture so immersed in Anime they erect 18 meter scale replica Gundam Robots in the capital city. Maybe then no one would think I was strange.

gundam-statue-tokyo-japan

2 thoughts on “Becoming One With The Anime

Leave a Reply

